Washington State

Office of the Attorney General

Attorney General

Bob Ferguson

Feb 26 2008

OLYMPIA…The Senate Consumer Protection and Housing Committee this week will hear two consumer protection bills supported or requested by Attorney General Rob McKenna. In addition, the Senate Judiciary Committee will hold a public hearing to listen to testimony on an eminent domain bill requested by McKenna.


Mortgage foreclosure fraud:
House Bill 2791, prime-sponsored by Rep. Patricia Lantz, D-Gig Harbor, will help reduce foreclosure rescue schemes that include an option to allow the original homeowner to buy or lease back the property. The bill passed the House unanimously.

The Senate Consumer Protection and Housing Committee will hold a public hearing on HB 2791 this Friday, Feb. 29 at 8:30 a.m.

Other sponsors of the bill include Reps. Jay Rodne, R-North Bend and Troy Kelley, D-University Place.

Speaker Pro Tempore Jeff Morris, D-Anacortes,  prime-sponsored Substitute House Bill 2879, which  seeks to correct loopholes and weaknesses in Washington’s computer spyware statute. .

The bill will have a public hearing before the Senate Consumer Protection and Housing Committee on Thursday, Feb. 28 at 8 a.m.

SHB 2879 is also sponsored by Deputy Minority Leader Doug Ericksen, R-Ferndale; Deputy Majority Whip Dawn Morrell, D-Puyallup;  Rep. Bob Hasegawa, D-Seattle and Kelley.

Eminent Domain:
House Bill 2920, prime-sponsored by Rep. Lynn Kessler, D-Hoquiam, requires the Attorney General's Office to develop an eminent domain ”bill of rights” brochure explaining eminent domain law, the authority of government agencies to use the law and rights of landowners affected by the law.  Government staff will be required to mail a copy of the brochure with each notice of planned final action in condemnation proceedings.

HB 2920 is scheduled for a public hearing before the Senate Judiciary Committee on Friday, Feb. 29 at 12:30 p.m.

The bill’s other sponsors include Reps. Rodne; Minority Floor Leader Larry Springer, D-Kirkland; Dave Upthegrove, D-Des Moines; Morrell; and Assistant Majority Whip Kevin Van De Wege, D-Sequim.


Media Contact: J. Ryan Shannon, Media Relations Manager, (360) 753-2727