Washington State

Office of the Attorney General

Attorney General

Bob Ferguson

If you rent your home you are covered by the Residential Landlord-Tenant Act (RCW 59.18).  In a 1985 decision, the Washington Supreme Court ruled that the Consumer Protection Act does not cover violations of the Residential Landlord-Tenant Act.  Therefore, we do not handle consumer complaints about issues covered by the Residential Landlord-Tenant Act.  However, we have provided a list of resources for those seeking information regarding residential landlord/tenant issues. 

The Attorney General's Office has the legal authority to accept and attempt to resolve disputes concerning issues that arise from mobile/manufactured tenancy where an individual owns the home and rents a lot for the home in a mobile/manufactured home park.  If this applies to you contact the Manufactured Housing Dispute Resolution Program  at (866) WAG-MHLTA (1-866-924-6458) or file a complaint regarding your mobile/manufactured home dispute. 

If your landlord-tenant issue demands immediate legal action, you may want to seek Landlord Tenant resources for legal advice, mediation or Small Claims Court (for claims under $10,000 — no attorney necessary). If your complaint involves more than $10,000, you may wish to seek a private attorney.


Information resources for tenants and landlords in the face of COVID-19


 
Unpaid Rent Repayment Plan Worksheet (PDF)
Spanish - Español
Russian - Pусский

Important Update Regarding Eviction Moratorium

The Governor’s eviction moratorium, Proclamation 20-19.6, ended at 11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2021. The State Legislature has passed legislation that provides the legal framework for landlords and tenants concerning evictions and housing related practices after the eviction moratorium. The Governor has provided some interim landlord-tenant protections while the various components of this new legislation are implemented. These interim landlord-tenant protections, contained in Proclamation 21-09.2, will end at 11:59 p.m. on October 31, 2021. 

 

Proclamation 21-09.2
You may review Proclamation 21-09.2, Tenancy Preservation – A Bridge to E2SSB 5160, here

 

Senate Bill 5160
SB 5160 is the new legislation passed by the State Legislature earlier this year that provides the Legislature’s new rules for evictions and housing related practices after COVID-19. The Attorney General’s Office has created the following guide to SB 5160 to help landlords and tenants understand their rights and responsibilities under that new law:

 

County-Specific Resources for Tenants and Landlords
Tenants and landlords interested in learning whether they may qualify for Eviction Rent Assistance for unpaid rent during or after COVID-19 should contact their local rent assistance provider. Additionally, SB 5160 requires that landlords and tenants first participate in their local court Eviction Resolution Program before the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit against a tenant for non-payment of rent.

  • For information regarding Eviction Rent Assistance in your county, click here.
  • For information regarding the Eviction Resolution Program in your county, click here.

 

Eviction Resolution Program Notice and Resource Information
In 2021, the Washington State Legislature passed and Governor Inslee signed legislation, which requires landlords to invite tenants to participate in their local county superior court’s Eviction Resolution Program before a landlord is allowed to file an unlawful detainer action (eviction proceeding) for non-payment of rent. In counties where an Eviction Resolution Program is up and running, Landlords must send tenants an Eviction Resolution Program Notice to invite them to participate in the Eviction Resolution Program. The Eviction Resolution Program Notice informs tenants of legal and other resources to help them try to reach an agreement with their landlord on a repayment plan for unpaid rent. The Attorney General’s Office translated this Eviction Resolution Program notice into 12 languages commonly-spoken in Washington. Twelve translated notice forms can be found below.

 


14 Day Notice Forms

In 2021, the Washington State Legislature passed and Governor Inslee signed legislation, which required landlords to provide notice at least 14 days before initiating an eviction proceeding, and made changes to the notice form that landlords must send to tenants if they fail to pay rent, utilities or another periodic charge that is agreed to in the lease. The 14-day notice informs tenants of the total financial obligation alleged by the landlord. The Attorney General’s Office translated this 14-day notice into 12 languages commonly-spoken in Washington. Twelve translated notice forms translated can be found below. The Attorney General’s Office collected information for tenants about legal and advocacy resources, including immigrant and cultural organizations where tenants can receive assistance in their primary language. These resources can be found here.