Washington State

Office of the Attorney General

Attorney General

Bob Ferguson


SEATTLE — Attorney General Bob Ferguson today called on five major phone companies to offer call-blocking technology to their customers.

In a joint letter sent with 44 other attorneys general to the chief executives of the carriers, Ferguson said a new Federal Communications Commission (FCC) rule clarification confirms that telecommunications service providers can offer customers the ability to block unwanted calls.

“My office is committed to enforcing laws intended to prevent unwanted robocalls,” Ferguson said today. “The FCC has now made clear that the technology is available to stop these calls before they happen. I call upon the industry to offer consumers the tools that will empower them to fight back.”

In their letter to AT&T, Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile and CenturyLink, the attorneys general stated, “Every year, our offices are flooded with consumer complaints pleading for a solution to stop intrusive robocalls. Your companies are now poised to offer your customers the help they need. We urge you to act without delay.”

Phone carriers had previously claimed they could not offer such services. At a July 2013 hearing before a U.S. Senate subcommittee, for instance, representatives from the U.S. Telecom Association and trade group CTIA testified that “legal barriers prevent carriers from implementing advanced call-blocking technology to reduce the number of unwanted telemarketing calls.”

Attorney General Ferguson noted that call-blocking options already exist for Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) phone service (NoMoRobo.com) and Android cell phones (Call Control) and called upon the phone carriers to move quickly to implement these options and inform consumers.

Last September, Ferguson and 38 other attorneys general called on the FCC to clarify whether phone companies could utilize call-blocking technologies. FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler endorsed the request in late May, and the FCC passed the rule clarification on June 18.

The attorneys general offices that signed today’s letter are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


The Office of the Attorney General is the chief legal office for the state of Washington with attorneys and staff in 27 divisions across the state providing legal services to roughly 200 state agencies, boards and commissions. Attorney General Bob Ferguson is working hard to protect consumers and seniors against fraud, keep our communities safe, protect our environment and stand up for our veterans. Visit www.atg.wa.gov to learn more.


Peter Lavallee, Communications Director, (360) 586-0725; PeterL@atg.wa.gov