Washington State

Office of the Attorney General

Attorney General

Bob Ferguson


OLYMPIA—Attorney General Rob McKenna‘s “Operation: Allied Against Meth” task force will hold its final meeting at 9 a.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 9, in the Senate Rules Room at the state Capitol.

McKenna will open the meeting then introduce the heads of the task force’s individual work groups who will share the final recommendations of their subcommittees.

Sen. Jim Hargrove, D-Hoquiam, is chairman of the Demand Reduction Committee, Snohomish County Prosecuting Attorney Janice Ellis heads the Cleanup and Governance Committee, and Whatcom County Sheriff Bill Elfo leads the Criminal Sanctions Committee.

After discussion and adoption of the subcommittees’ recommendations, the task force will present a final report in the next several weeks and a legislative package shortly thereafter.

The meeting will be taped by TVW and is tentatively scheduled to be aired on Saturday, Nov.12, at 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. The task force has held three meetings, all of which have been open to the public.

McKenna and members of the task force will hold a media availability at noon immediately following adjournment.

Members of the task force are as follows:

  • Hon. Rob McKenna, Attorney General (Chair)
  • Hon. Tom Campbell, Washington State Representative
  • Captain Mark Couey, Commander of the Washington State Patrol Investigative Assistance Division (Alternate)
  • Chris DeChant, Mercer Island Police Department, Representing WACOPS
  • Hon. Bill Elfo, Whatcom County Sheriff, Representing WASPC
  • Hon. Janice Ellis, Snohomish County Prosecutor, Representing WAPA
  • Hon. Jim Hargrove, Washington State Senator
  • Hon. Russ Hauge, Kitsap County Prosecutor, Representing WAPA
  • Annette L. Hayes, Assistant United States Attorney, Representing United States Attorney for Western Washington
  • Chief Gary James, Lummi Tribal Law and Order, Representing Tribal Law Enforcement
  • Hon. Stephen Johnson, Washington State Senator
  • Assistant Chief Dave Karnitz, Investigative Services Bureau, Washington State Patrol
  • Priscilla Lisicich, Safe Streets Campaign, Representing Washington State Methamphetamine Initiative
  • James McDevitt, United States Attorney, Representing United States Attorney for Eastern Washington
  • Suzanne Moreau, Puget Sound Labor Agency (AFL-CIO), Representing Organized Labor
  • Jason Moulton, Safeway Loss Prevention Department, Representing Washington Association of Retailers/Grocers
  • Hon. Al O’Brien, Washington State Representative
  • Hon. Brad Owen, Lt. Governor
  • Hon. Kirk Pearson, Washington State Representative
  • Bobbie Petrone-Cassidy, Representing Washington Association of Realtors
  • Hon. Sue Rahr, King County Sheriff, Representing WASPC
  • Bob Richey, Ellensburg Police Department, Representing WASPC
  • Dr. Terree Schmidt-Whelan, Pierce County Alliance, Representing Drug Treatment Community
  • Scott Sigmon, Schering-Plough External Affairs, Representing Pharmaceutical Industry
  • Hon. Karl Sloan, Okanogan County Prosecutor, Representing WAPA
  • Nancy Underwood Long, Lutheran Community Services, Representing Non-Profit Community
  • Marcia Via, Greater Spokane Substance Abuse Council, Representing Community Mobilization



Janelle Guthrie, APR
Director of Media Relations
Washington State Attorney General's Office
1125 Washington Street SE
PO Box 40100
Olympia, WA 98504-0100
Phone: (360) 586-0725
Cell: (360) 584-3046
E-mail: janelleg@atg.wa.gov